More Blog Love

This addition of blog love goes out to imveryape.com for showing me some love on my track Shark Hunter Quint.  It’s super appreciated man.  Feel free to click away on their link above.  They also got a hidden gem section for those sneaky tracks that get lost in the world wide web.  Good stuff!

I’M VERY GUERRILLA

E. GRIZZLY – SHARK HUNTER QUINT

e.grizzlyn

For Fans of: Lateef the Truthspeaker, Buck 65, MF Doom, Heems,

I’d like to welcome you to the Adventures of E. Grizzly, the entertaining website of one of the most raspy and rambunctious MCs out there. It is a mix of hilarious artwork (check out the painting) and youtube videos, but also live shows, songs, and lyrics from the gravelly-voiced, Miami-based rapper E. Grizzly (aka Eric). The highlight for me so far has been finding the indie-rock tinged track Shark Hunter Quint off his newest mixtape – The Nah Mixtape. As stated in Grizzly’s site, the album was produced by the drummer of the punk band 1994, and the influence made for a great marriage. Industrial drums and rock reverb get layered with whirling synth to created a My Bloody Valentine-esque wall of noise that sounds completely novel for a hip hop track. Grizzly’s weathered but energetic delivery adds sand to that storm as he belts out thoughtful and unique lyrics  – “I’m about the new religion of free thinkin’, without the superstition”. And all the sounds blend together perfectly in the earworm of a chorus “I-I-I-I-I’m an American Guerrilla”. This is a stellar concoction of new ideas and solid rapping that has me saying, at least for today, IMVERYGUERRILLA.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment